scott dixon
linker balk
Next IndyCar Series race
REV Group Grand Prix - Race 1
July 11, 05:15 pm ET

Which Rookie will lead the 2018 ROTY Class coming out of St. Pete?

Pic of the week
Rinus VeeKay, Indianapolis Infield

On Track This Week '17 - Iowa Corn 300

OTTW Iowa 2014 Hello everyone! Did you all have a good break? Lord knows the teams need one. At the very least to rebuild the piles of carbon fibre back into drivable cars. Anyway, we're back on track this weekend in heaven, er… Iowa. The action on the ovals has been hit (literally) and miss this season to say the least.
While Texas was a fail (again) both Phoenix and Indy provided a good show.

What Happened Last Time

Pole: Simon Pagenaud
Podium: Josef Newgarden, Will Power, Scott Dixon

Highlights from the last race:

Here is a look at how the current field has performed at this track: Driver Performance - Iowa

What to Expect This Time
Marco Andretti, Ryan Hunter-Reay (3), Hinchcliffe, Kanaan, and Newgarden have each won here. Castroneves holds the track record and has been on pole twice, along with Dixon, though nabbing the pole seems to be a curse, as it hasn't in recent years translated to a win (or even a podium) *cough* Pagenaud 2016 *cough*

If the teams can figure out the downforce… and not take out the majority of the field like the abomination that was Texas, look for a racy race! We're into the back half of the season now, so every race counts, and every point counts. There will be no slackers out there.

Talking Points

Here's what Charlie Kimball, Marco Andretti, Scott Dixon and Ryan Hunter-Reay have had to say about the Iowa Corn 300 at Iowa Speedway in the past

Who's the Favorite?
Well, it's no secret that the Andretti clan have dominated at this track over the years, but last year that all fell apart, and this year they have been hit or miss on any given weekend, so… while one would logically choose 3 time Iowa winner Hunter-Reay… buyer beware.
In the repeat category, Newgarden has owned the second step for the two years previous to last year’s win over now teammate Will Power. This year he’s in the Penske stable, and has a win under his belt. Look for him to contend for the win.

Who could surprise?
Everyone has the potential to be a spoiler this weekend. This field is strong, and everyone has their eye on the final prize.

If we had to pick just one?

As it Stands:

Reigning Champion: Simon Pagenaud
2017 Points Leader: Scott Dixon
2017 ROTY Leader: Ed Jones

The details...

Event: Iowa Corn 300

Venue: Iowa Speedway
Track Type: 7/8 mile Tri-Oval
Distance: 300 laps / 268.2 miles

TV: We remain happily with NBCSN this weekend. Kevin Lee takes the helm for the NBCSN broadcasts this weekend alongside analysts Townsend Bell and Paul Tracy. Pit reporters are Marty Snider, Kevin Lee, Katie Hartgitt and Robin Miller.

Broadcast Windows: Qualifying, 3 p.m ET. July 8, Race, 5 p.m ET July 9.

Web/radio: Mark Jaynes is your chief announcer. Joining him in the booth will be analyst Davey Hamilton. All Verizon IndyCar Series races are broadcast live on the Advance Auto Parts INDYCAR Radio Network, Sirius 212, XM 209,, and on the INDYCAR Mobile app.

Video Streaming: track activity not covered live on television will be available on the INDYCAR YouTube channel and

For those following along on Twitter this weekend, You can follow along with:

Other follow/bookmark suggestions:
@indycar, @indycarPR
oh, and of course @openwheelworld ;-)

The official #hashtag for the event is: #iowacorn300
Other hastags to follow: #indycar

Here is this weekend's Entry List

Here is this weekend's Spotter's Guide

Here is the weekend schedule:
*all times local/Central*

Saturday, July 8
10:00am - 11:15am - Verizon IndyCar Practice 1 *live streaming*
1:15pm - 1:45pm - Indy Lights Practice 1
2:00pm - 3:00pm - Verizon IndyCar Qualifying
5:30pm - 6:00pm - Indy Lights Practice 2
6:15pm - 6:45pm - Verizon IndyCar Practice 2 *live streaming*

Sunday, July 9
10:15am - 11:00am - Indy Lights Qualifying
2:15pm - 3:15pm - Indy Lights Race
4:40pm -6:45pm - Verizon IndyCar Iowa Corn Indy 300 RACE (300 Laps, NBCSN broadcast begins at 4pm (5pm ET) )

Share |
Updated 03-09-2018, 01:01 pm
Written by

  No comments

Road America
Road America
Saturday - July 11
11:00 am Free practice 1 
02:15 pm Qualifying 1 
05:15 pm Race 
Sunday - July 12
10:00 am Qualifying 2 
12:40 pm Race 2 

Race Indianapolis Infield
1. S. Dixon 1:41:59
2. G. Rahal 1:42:19
3. S. Pagenaud 1:42:19
4. C. Herta 1:42:24
5. R. VeeKay 1:42:24
Full results

IndyCar driver standings

Favorite links